The Artemisia plant 

Artemisia annua is an annual plant that grows to a head-high bush in summer and thrives well in Europe. It belongs to the Artemisia plant genus, which comprises approximately 250 to 500 species. Other types of Artemisia include mugwort, wormwood, rodwort or noble rhombus.

 Ingredients of Artemisia annua

The Artemisia annua species is very well researched. To date, 245 different active ingredients have been isolated and detected. In addition to the best-known ingredient, artemisinin, these are e.g. numerous anti-inflammatory polyphenols. Artemisia annua has been known in Chinese folk medicine for 2000 years.

 Artemisia and the Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize is one of the highest awards in science and an honor for every researcher. In 2015 the Nobel Prize in Medicine went to Artemisia! At least indirectly ... The 84-year-old Chinese Youyou Tu received the award for her discovery of the active ingredient artemisinin in the Artemisia plant. When common malaria medications lost their effectiveness at the end of the 1960s because the malaria pathogens became increasingly resistant.

Less resistance when taking the whole plant

On the other hand, if you use the entire plant extract, resistance formation is much less likely because the plant contains 9 other substances that are effective against malaria. The malaria pathogen (a certain plasmodium) may still be able to defend itself against a single active substance (artemisinin = monosubstance) and develop resistance. However, if the pathogen is immediately confronted with a whole salvo of active ingredients, this is much more difficult for it. Unfortunately, the pharmaceutical industry works almost exclusively with mono substances. Which meant that good antimalarials are almost ineffective today. There is now a risk that this will also happen with Artemisinin.

To date, no resistance has occurred worldwide when the whole plant is used. It is therefore important to use the entire plant extract for malaria and not just a single medication. The clinical cure rate for malaria is 90-95%. However, it is important to know that there are now very resistant pathogens in some areas of Africa (e.g. Uganda) and it is therefore recommended that Artemisia therapy be continued for some time after leaving the malaria area (more on this under Dosage).

Mechanism of action of Artemisia

But how does Artemisia work against pathogens? Many mechanisms of action are still unknown, but at least one is known. And this is extremely remarkable. Artemisia annua contains a chemically stable peroxide, which according to the basic chemical rules cannot exist. Plasmodia (e.g. cancer cells) contain 10-20 times more iron ions compared to normal cells. If the peroxide comes into contact with this iron, it breaks down into two aggressive free radicals. These damage the affected cells decisively, causing them to die. This mechanism is also the reason why Artemisia should never be taken with iron, but must be taken outside of meals. Otherwise there is a risk that the peroxide bridge will break in the stomach or intestine, and not only if it is inside or near pathogens or diseased cells.

Special breeds

There are special varieties of Artemisia annua that, unlike wild plants, also grow well in the tropics and have an active ingredient content that is up to 20 times higher.

 

Artemisia for malaria

Artemisia in cancer

Artemisia and viral infections / AIDS

Artemisia in bacteria

Artemisia in flu / corona viruses

Artemisia in skin cancer

Artemisia in neurodermatitis

Dosage and side effects

 

Artemisia annua can prevent or help with the following diseases:

  • Viral infections
  • Bacterial infections
  • Lyme disease
  • Fever / flu
  • Corona navigation
  • Various types of cancer
  • Canker sores
  • malaria
  • Inflammation
  • Diverticulitis
  • Inflammation of the brain
  • AIDS
  • Herpex simplex (herpes cold sores)

Artemisia cream

Since we assume an antibacterial, antiviral and fungicidal effect of Artemisia annua, an Artemisia cream can have an effect on various skin diseases.

Artemisia annua cream or ointment can prevent or help with the following diseases:

  • Acne vulgaris
  • Anal fissures
  • Canker sores
  • Eczema
  • hemorrhoids
  • Skin infections
  • Skin fungus
  • Herpex simplex (cold sores)
  • Itching sensation with insect bites
  • Open wounds
  • psoriasis
  • Rosacea on the face
  • Warts

Selected studies on Artemisia annua (English)

Texts and links with many thanks from,

Dr. med. Heinz Lüscher

Die Artemisia-Pflanze 

Bei Artemisia annua handelt es sich um eine einjährige Pflanze, die im Sommer zu einem mannshohen Busch heranwächst und in Europa gut gedeiht. Sie gehört zur Pflanzengattung Artemisia, welche ca. 250 bis 500 Arten umfasst. Andere Artemisia-Arten sind etwa Beifuss, Wermut, Stabwurz oder Edelraute.

 Inhaltsstoffe von Artemisia annua

Die Art Artemisia annua ist sehr gut erforscht. Bis heute konnten 245 verschiedene Wirkstoffe isoliert und nachgewiesen werden. Neben dem bekanntesten Inhaltsstoff, dem Artemisinin, sind das z.B. zahlreiche entzündungshemmende Polyphenole. Artemisia annua ist in der chinesischen Volksmedizin schon seit 2000 Jahren bekannt.

 Artemisia und der Nobelpreis

Der Nobelpreis ist eine der höchsten Auszeichnungen der Wissenschaft und eine Ehre für jeden Forscher. Im Jahr 2015 ging der Nobelpreis für Medizin an Artemisia! Zumindest indirekt… Erhalten hat den Preis die 84-jährige Chinesin Youyou Tu für ihre Entdeckung des Wirkstoffs Artemisinin in der Artemisia-Pflanze. Als Ende der 1960er Jahre gängige Malaria-Medikamente ihre Wirksamkeit verloren, weil die Malaria-Erreger zunehmend resistent wurden.

Weniger Resistenzen bei Einnahme der gesamten Pflanze

Setzt man hingegen den gesamten Pflanzenextrakt ein, ist eine Resistenzbildung sehr viel weniger wahrscheinlich, weil die Pflanze noch 9 weitere gegen Malaria wirksame Substanzen enthält. Gegen einen einzelnen Wirkstoff (Artemisinin = Monosubstanz) kann sich der Malaria-Erreger (ein bestimmtes Plasmodium) vielleicht noch zur Wehr setzen und eine Resistenz entwickeln. Sieht sich der Erreger jedoch gleich mit einer ganzen Salve von Wirkstoffen konfrontiert, ist dies für ihn ungleich schwieriger. Leider arbeitet die Pharmaindustrie fast ausschließlich mit Monosubstanzen. Was dazu führte, das gute Malariamittel heute fast wirkungslos sind. Es besteht inzwischen die Gefahr, dass dies ebenfalls mit Artemisinin passiert.

Bis heute sind beim Einsatz der ganzen Pflanze weltweit keine Resistenzen aufgetreten. Es ist darum wichtig, bei Malaria den gesamten Pflanzenextrakt und nicht nur ein Mono-Medikament einzusetzen. Die klinische Heilungsrate bei Malaria liegt bei 90-95%. Es ist aber wichtig zu wissen, dass es in einigen Gebieten von Afrika (z.B. Uganda) inzwischen sehr widerstandsfähige Erreger gibt und deshalb empfohlen wird, die Artemisia-Therapie nach Verlassen des Malaria-Gebietes noch für einige Zeit weiterzuführen (mehr dazu unter Dosierung).

Wirkmechanismus von Artemisia

Wie aber wirkt Artemisia gegen Erreger? Viele Wirkmechanismen sind noch unbekannt, mindestens einer ist aber bekannt. Und dieser ist äußerst bemerkenswert. So enthält Artemisia annua ein chemisch stabiles Peroxid, was es nach den chemischen Grundregeln gar nicht geben kann. Plasmodien (z.B Krebszellen) enthalten 10-20 mal mehr Eisenionen im Vergleich zu normalen Zellen. Kommt das Peroxid mit diesem Eisen in Kontakt, zerfällt es in zwei aggressive freie Radikale. Diese schädigen betroffene Zellen entscheidend, sodass diese absterben. Dieser Mechanismus ist auch der Grund, weshalb Artemisia nie zusammen mit Eisen eingenommen werden darf, sondern außerhalb der Mahlzeiten eingenommen werden muss. Sonst besteht die Gefahr, dass die Peroxidbrücke schon im Magen oder im Darm zerbricht, und nicht erst dann, wenn sie innerhalb oder in der Nähe von Erregern oder erkrankten Zellen ist.

Spezialzüchtungen

Es gibt spezielle Züchtungen von Artemisia annua, die im Unterschied zu den Wildpflanzen auch in den Tropen gut wachsen und einen bis zu 20x höheren Wirkstoffgehalt aufweisen.

 

Artemisia bei Malaria

Artemisia bei Krebs

Artemisia und virale Infektionen / AIDS

Artemisia bei Bakterien

Artemisia bei Grippe / Coronaviren

Artemisia bei Hautkrebs

Artemisia bei Neurodermitis

Dosierung und Nebenwirkungen

 

Bei folgenden Krankheiten kann Artemisia annua eine vorbeugende oder helfende Wirkung haben:

  • Virale Infektionen
  • Bakterielle Infektionen
  • Borreliose
  • Fieber / Grippe
  • Coronavieren
  • Diverse Arten von Krebs
  • Aphten
  • Malaria
  • Entzündungen
  • Divertikulitis
  • Hirnentzündung
  • AIDS
  • Herpex simplex (Herpes Fieberbläschen)

Artemisia Creme

Da wir von einer antibakteriellen, antiviralen und auch fungiziden Wirkung von Artemisia annua ausgehen, kann eine Artemisia Creme bei diversen Hautkrankheiten seine Wirkung entfalten.

Bei folgenden Krankheiten kann Artemisia annua Creme oder Salbe eine vorbeugende oder helfende Wirkung haben:

  • Akne vulgaris
  • Analfissuren
  • Aphten
  • Ekzeme
  • Hämorrhoiden
  • Hautinfektionen
  • Hautpilz
  • Herpex simplex (Fieberbläschen)
  • Juckreiz bei Insektenstichen
  • Offene Wunden
  • Psoriasis
  • Rosacea im Gesicht
  • Warzen

Ausgewählte Studien zu Artemisia annua (englisch)

Texte und Links mit besten Dank von,

Dr.med. Heinz Lüscher